Environmental Energy Technologies Division News

Environmental Energy Technologies Division News
  • EETD News Home
  • Back Issues
  • Subscribe to EETD News
  • Print

John Newman Wins Acheson Award

John Newman, a University of California, Berkeley, Professor of Chemical Engineering and scientist in Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory's Environmental Energy Technologies Division (EETD), is slated to receive The Electrochemical Society's prestigious Acheson Award. The award will be given to Newman at the Society's next meeting, in Las Vegas, in October 2010.

John Newman

John Newman

Newman's greatest contribution to the "objects, purposes, or activities of The Electrochemical Society" (the definition of the Acheson Award) has been his seminal approach to the analysis and design of electrochemical systems. Since the 1960s, Newman has not only clarified the physicochemical laws that govern the behavior of electrochemical systems, but also demonstrated how to use these laws to correctly formulate and solve problems associated with batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, and related technologies. His sophisticated approach to mathematically analyze complex electrochemical problems has been universally accepted by the academic and industrial communities, to the extent that it is now commonly referred to as "The Newman Method."

In addition to his UC Berkeley post as a Faculty Senior Scientist, Newman is Principal Investigator in the EETD and Director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Batteries for Advanced Transportation Technologies program. He is the author or co-author of more than 390 technical publications, numerous plenary and invited lectures, and the book Electrochemical Systems, which is now in its third edition and used worldwide as a monograph and graduate text in electrochemical engineering. Professor Newman has mentored many graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, and visiting scientists.

The Edward Goodrich Acheson Award of The Electrochemical Society, which includes a gold medal and a prize of $10,000, was established in 1928, and it is awarded no more often than every two years. It is named for Edward Acheson, a U.S. inventor best known for the invention of the highly effective abrasive material carborundum (silicon carbide).

Beside the Acheson Award, Newman has received nine other awards from The Electrochemical Society. In addition, he has been recognized as a Highly Cited Author, as identified by Thomson ISI. During 2002, he was an Onsager Professor at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim, and in 1999 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

The Acheson Award is arguably the most prestigious award that an electrochemical scientist could hope to attain, short of a Nobel Prize or a National Medal of Science. The late Professor Charles W. Tobias is among those who have received the Acheson Award (in 1972), and he is the only other member of the Berkeley electrochemical community to be so recognized.

—Frank McLarnon

For more information, contact:

  • Frank McLarnon
  • (510) 486-4636

More about Professor Newman and his research group.

More about The Edward Goodrich Acheson Award of The Electrochemical Society.

↑ home | ← previous article | next article →