Environmental Energy Technologies Division News

Environmental Energy Technologies Division News
  • EETD News Home
  • Back Issues
  • Subscribe to EETD News
  • Print

Research Highlights

Lab Role in Project Vulcan Greenhouse Gas Emissions Map

Marc Fischer standing in front of the Cessna 210 aircraft.

Scientists in the Berkeley Lab's Environmental Energy Technologies Division (EETD) played a role in developing the Google Earth map of North American fossil fuel carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions known as the Vulcan Project. The NASA and DOE-funded effort, based at Purdue University, quantifies CO2 emissions at space and time scales much finer than has been achieved in the past. EETD's Marc Fischer, the project leader, Stephane de la Rue du Can, and former EETD staff Scott Murtishaw used data from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the California Air Resources Board to develop emissions estimates.

EETD's Levine Receives Japanese Architecture Prize

Mark Levine

Mark Levine, former director of the Environmental Energy Technologies Division and head of the China Energy Group, will receive the 2009 Appreciation Prize of the Architectural Institute of Japan at a ceremony in Tokyo. The award cites his "series of accomplishments on outstanding research works, promotion of energy projects and dissemination of energy efficiency technologies in the field of architecture for global warming protection." This is the third major award Levine has received in the past 12 months, having also received the Obayashi Prize and the Public Service Award of the Federation of American Scientists.

Renewable Energy Team Wins Wind Power Award

Wind Powering America logo

The renewable energy team of the Environmental Energy Technologies Division, led by Ryan Wiser, received a Wind Powering America award, announced at the annual U.S. Department of Energy Wind Powering America State Summit. The Friend of the Program Award was presented to Berkeley Lab in recognition of excellence and leadership in wind energy policy and market analysis. The team—honored for its long-standing policy and analysis activities in the wind power market—includes Wiser, Mark Bolinger, Galen Barbose, Andrew Mills, Ben Hoen, Naim Darghouth, Carla Peterman, and Anna Rosa.

↑ home | ← previous article | next article →