CBS Newsletter
Spring 1994
pg. 14

Awards and Citations

Art Rosenfeld, director of the Center for Building Science, has received the Department of Energy's 1993 Sadi Carnot Award for lifetime achievement in the field of energy conservation and renewable energy.

During a 20-year career in the energy-efficiency field, he has contributed to both major analytical advances in energy analysis and practical programs designed to improve efficiency. He also helped develop the concepts of least-cost energy services and conservation supply curves, the two most widely used tools for least-cost utility planning. In 1975, Rosenfeld began a campaign to simulate building energy use more accurately; this effort evolved into the DOE-2 whole-building simulation program, now the international standard for simulating building energy use.

Rosenfeld's other contributions include helping to establish the California Collaborative, a partnership among the state's utilities, the California Public Utilities Commission, and other interested groups to expand the state's energy-efficiency efforts. The Advanced Customer Technology Test program (ACT2) was the brainchild of Rosenfeld and the Rocky Mountain Institute's Amory Lovins to test advanced efficiency technology through demonstration projects funded by Pacific Gas & Electric, the United States' largest utility. Rosenfeld's current research interest is mitigating urban heat islands through light surfaces and shade trees. Prior to working in the energy-efficiency field, Rosenfeld had a distinguished career in nuclear and particle physics. He has authored more than 320 papers.

The Carnot award was named for a 19th-century French physicist whose work on energy conservation and the conversion of heat into work became the basis of the first and second laws of thermodynamics.

Dariush Arasteh has been recognized by the National Fenestration Ratings Council for "exemplary contributions to the NFRC mission through outstanding scientific and technical leadership achievement and leadership in the development of NFRC technical procedures." Arasteh is a scientist in the Windows and Daylighting Group.

Indoor Environment Program head Joan Daisey has been appointed Chair of the Science Advisory Board's Indoor Air Quality/Total Human Exposure Committee for 1994 by Carol Browner, Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

A paper by Jon Koomey of the Center's Energy Analysis Program and Deborah Schechter and Deborah Gordon of the Union of Concerned Scientists received the Fred Burggraf Award of the National Research Council's Transportation Research Board. The paper is titled "Cost Effectiveness of Fuel Economy Improvements in 1992 Honda Civic Hatchbacks." The prize recognizes excellence in transportation research by scientists 35 or younger.

Max Sherman of the Indoor Environment Program received the Award for Best Paper by the International Energy Agency's Air Infiltration and Ventilation Center at its 14th annual conference in Copenhagen. The paper is titled "Ventilation: Energy Liabilities in U.S. Dwellings."

The Federal Laboratory Consortium has awarded Michael Siminovitch and Chin Zhang of the Lighting Systems Research Group (part of the Center's Building Technologies Program) the FLC Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer. They were recognized for developing energy-saving convective venting systems for compact fluorescent downlight fixtures. The technology helps cool the fixtures, increasing light outputs in lamps by as much as 20 percent (CBS News Winter 1994, p. 4). A second LBL team received a Certificate of Merit from the Federal Laboratory Consortium. Robert Sullivan and Michael Wilde of the Building Technologies Program were cited for developing prototype interactive multimedia applications ranging from building design and performance analysis tools to information databases on energy efficiency. The award commends outstanding work in transferring technology developed at federal laboratories to private-sector users.

Siminovitch also received the 1993 Award of Merit from the IEEE-Industry Application Society's Manufacturers System Development and Applications Department. He was cited for technical contributions to the development and market transfer of efficient compact fluorescent lamp fixtures.

Ruth Steiner of the Energy Analysis Program's International Energy Group is one of 15 recipients of the Switzer Foundation Environmental Fellowship for the 1993-94 academic year. Switzer fellowships are awarded to California graduate students whose research is directed toward reducing and preventing air, water, or soil pollution.

EETD Newsletter Home Page
CBS Newsletter Home Page
Table of Contents for this Issue