EETD Safety Committee Charter

May 29, 2002


Within Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), adherence to Environment, Health, and Safety (EH&S) rules and procedures is a line management responsibility. The Environmental Energy Technologies Division (EETD) Director thus has the ultimate responsibility for EH&S in the Division. The Division has an EH&S Manager at the Staff Scientist level and an EH&S Coordinator to handle day-to-day EH&S matters. The Division Director uses the management structure of EETD (Division Council, Heads, Group Leaders, Principal Investigators, and individual staff members) along with the Safety Committee, Safety Manager, and Safety Coordinator to formulate and implement safety policy and procedures.

Purpose of and Charge to the Safety Committee

The overall purpose of the Safety Committee is to assist line management in carrying out its EH&S responsibilities. The Committee is coupled to Division Management by the EH&S Manager, who serves as the Committee chair. The EH&S Coordinator serves on the Committee ex-officio and as staff. The other Committee members, all ex-officio, are the Deputy Division Director, the Business Manager, and the liaison to EETD from the EH&S Division.

The primary functions of the Committee are to:

  1. Advise the Division Director and Division Council on EH&S policies and issues.
  2. Assist with achieving the Division's EH&S goals and resolving issues as needed.
  3. Communicate, via meetings, email notices, and other means, information about EH&S to the Division's staff.
  4. Encourage and solicit EH&S related feedback from Division staff.

The Chair will convene the Committee as often as necessary to carry out these functions, but no less than quarterly.